UNMC Family Medicine Connect

Former, current, and incoming residents awarded NAFP Scholarships

The Nebraska Academy of Family Physicians held the 70th Annual Meeting & Scientific Assembly at the Embassy Suites La Vista Conference Center on March 22-24, 2018. Eight scholarships were given out this year to students and residents interested in family medicine. Several winners represented the UNMC Department of Family Medicine.

Former resident Chelsea Williams, MD, received the Charles F. Ashby, MD, Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Dr. Ashby to new NAFP family physicians practicing in Nebraska.

Ali McCabe, MD, received the Haiti Mission Trip Scholarship. The Haiti Mission scholarship is given to a resident or student who is interested in participating in a medical mission trip to Haiti.

Tiffany Svoboda, DO, received the Donald A. Larson, MD, Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is presented annually to a family medicine resident who is interested in family medicine in rural practice.

Incoming subintern, Zachary Wordekemper, was awarded the Dennis DeRoin, MD, Memorial Scholarship.


FMIG hosts Residency Fair

The Family Medicine Interest Group held its annual Family Medicine Residency Fair on Thursday, April 5.

The annual event gives UNMC students an opportunity to learn about family medicine residencies in the surrounding area. Representatives from six programs were present to talk about their respective programs.

Thank you to the following programs for their participation:

  • University of Nebraska Medical Center Family Medicine
  • Lincoln Family Medicine Program
  • Clarkson Family Medicine
  • Siouxland Medical Education Foundation – Sioux City, IA

5th Annual Resident Research Symposium

The 5th Annual Resident Research Symposium on March 21, featured poster presentations and oral presentations from Department of Family Medicine residents. The top presenters are recognized at the annual event attended by faculty, residents, and staff. This year’s winners were:


  • First Place: Dr. Krista Stoecker for “When Anxiety is More than Just Anxiety: A thyroid Storm Case Report”
  • Second Place: Dr. Kaitlin Hahn for “Morbidity & Mortality Conference: Cultivating a Culture of Safety”

Oral Presentation:

  • First Place: Dr. Melanie Menning for “Measles Risk in Central Nebraska”
  • Second Place: Dr. Haleigh White for “Correlation of 250HD Levels and Patient-oriented Outcomes at 12 month Well Visit”

New Residents announced for 2018-19 year

The Department of Family Medicine will welcome new house officers for the traditional, military, and rural training track programs for the 2018-2019 year. Four UNMC medical students will also be joining through the Advanced Rural Training Program as subinterns.

UNMC Match Day was held on March 16, 2016.

Traditional Program

Darby Luckey –  A.T. Still University – Kirksville

Frances Hindt – Creighton University

Bret Elliott – UNMC  (joining us from the Primary Care program)

Maria Rojas – UNMC  (joining us from the Primary Care program)

Current Advanced Rural Training Program residents:  Hannah Baldridge, Ian Engebretsen, Jamie Kielian, Sandra Torres

Military Residents:

Rachel Bowers – University of Arizona

Joseph Cherri – A.T. Still University – Kirksville

Steven Embry – Michigan State University of Osteopathic Medicine

Ryan Hunter – Tulane University School of Medicine

Peter Martin – Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine

Sean McDade –  Michigan State University of Osteopathic Medicine

Jordan Rennicke – Medicine College of Wisconsin

Regan Rogers – Loyola University Chicago

2nd year:  Hudson McGinnis  – Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine

Rural Training Track:

Grand Island

Cole Marolf – UNMC  (joining us from the Primary Care program)

Marie Rodehorst – UNMC   (joining us from the Primary Care program)


Bradley Hohwieler – UNMC

Jordan Moncrief – UNMC


Kyle Ridge – St. James School of Medicine

North Platte  

Michael Nelson-  University of Science Arts and Technology


Benjamin Stang – Saba University

Arthur Grinstead – Trinity School of Medicine


Hannah Malcolm

Carissa Mangus

Grant Saltzgaber

Zachary Wordekemper