UNMC Family Medicine Connect

Residents, faculty attend NAFP meeting

The Nebraska Academy of Family Physician’s 73rd Annual Meeting & Scientific Assembly was held March 25-27 at the Embassy Suites La Vista Hotel and Conference Center. 

Department of Family Medicine residents participated in both oral and poster presentations at the annual meeting. Faculty members Dr. T. Jason Meredith and Dr. Timothy Malloy also presented to attendees.

Residents, subinterns announced for 2021-22

The Department of Family Medicine will welcome new house officers for the traditional, military, and rural training track programs for the 2021-2022 year. Six UNMC medical students will also be joining through the Advanced Rural Training Program as subinterns.

UNMC Match Day was held on March 19.

Taylor Bequette
Stephanie Emig
Blake Hass
Cody Masters
Anna Ripp
Leo Tyler

Current Advanced Rural Training Program
Sarah Marlatt – UNMC
Haley Mathews – UNMC
Jacob Vasa – UNMC
Jeffrey Wallman – UNMC

Traditional, Urban Underserved
Brendan George – University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine
Ralph Hauke – UNMC
Michael Schulte – Creighton University School of Medicine
Ryan Wendt – University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine

Air Force
Alexander Edwards – University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Ethan Miller – University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Boone Parkinson – Des Moines University
Hannah Pyle – St. Louis University School of Medicine
Kate Seideman – Western University of Health Sciences
Sarah Szybist – Rocky Vista University College of Medicine
Natasha Yousaf – West Virginia University School of Medicine

Rural Training Track

Grand Island
Jordan E. Kunz – UNMC

Nathan E. Harris – UNMC

North Platte
Jordan K. Cockerill – St. Martinsus University

Eduardo A. Gonzalez Fernandez – Univ Autonoma de Nuevo Leon Facultad de Medicina
Ann Iype – Kasturba Medical College of Manipal – India

2021-2022 Chief Residents Announced

The Department of Family Medicine Residency Program announced the new Chief Residents for the 2021-2021 academic year: Ali Bauer and Tobi Ogun.

Ali is a graduate of the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and is from Lyons, Michigan. Tobi is from Nigeria and a graduate of Poznan University of Medical Sciences.

A special thanks to outgoing chiefs – Jordan Rennicke and Hannah Siel for their hard work and dedication to the residency program throughout this challenging year.

New residents attend session on race, bias, and white privilege

Several Department of Family Medicine faculty collaborated to develop a session on race, bias, and white privilege as part of new resident orientation for the 2020 intern class.

On Monday, July 27, twenty-one residents and eight faculty members gathered in small groups and over Zoom to discuss various topics on race and bias.

Highlights of the session included presentations on health equity and Omaha’s race history. Dr. Melanie Menning presented on Omaha’s immigrant and refugee health and Dr. Andrea Jones talked on the social determinants of health, racism, bias, and white privilege. Residents also heard about the racial wealth gap, white fragility, systemic racism, the social perspective for medical students and residents,

Faculty facilitators included Dr. Hannah Christiansen, Dr. Susan Evans, Dr. Alex Dworak, Dr. Andrea Jones, Dr. Jessica Koran-Scholl, Dr. Jennifer Liu, Dr. Alberto Marcelin, and Dr. Melanie Menning.