UNMC Family Medicine Connect

Dr. Jones receives NOAH award

Department of Family Medicine Assistant Professor, Andrea Jones, MD, was named the North Omaha Area Health (NOAH) 2021 Champions of Change award recipient for Community Trailblazer.

The program highlighted Dr. Jones’s accomplishments and said that “as a multi-racial woman of color from the community, it has long been her goal to earn, and then use her medical degree back in the community, particularly in North Omaha, serving a disproportionately African American population with a wide range of pressing health-related needs.”

Dr. Jones also serves as the Medical Director at Girls, Inc. of Omaha, the Medical Director for Equity and Community Health at Nebraska Medicine, and serves on the Douglas County Board of Health.


Department celebrates Dr. Babbe

Dr. Gregory Babbe celebrated his retirement with the Department of Family Medicine on May 21 with a luncheon and presentation from department chairman, Dr. Jeffrey Harrison.

Dr. Babbe, attended Medical School at the University of South Dakota, School of Medicine and completed his Residency training in Family Medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 1990.  Dr. Babbe joined the Department of Family Medicine upon graduation from residency and served as the Assistant Residency Director from 1991-1992.  In 1993, Dr. Babbe left UNMC to join the faculty at the Medical College of Georgia in Augusta, GA to serve in Residency recruitment and admissions.  In 1995, Dr. Babbe returned to UNMC Department of Family Medicine as a faculty member.  From 2001-2002, Dr. Babbe went to the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences as a Clinical Assistant Professor, but returned to UNMC the following year.

In 2009, Dr. Babbe was recognized by The Nebraska Medical Center with the Physician of Distinction award and in 2016 was recognized as the UNMC Department of Family Medicine Faculty of the Year.

Congratulations, Dr. Babbe!

Residents, faculty attend NAFP meeting

The Nebraska Academy of Family Physician’s 73rd Annual Meeting & Scientific Assembly was held March 25-27 at the Embassy Suites La Vista Hotel and Conference Center. 

Department of Family Medicine residents participated in both oral and poster presentations at the annual meeting. Faculty members Dr. T. Jason Meredith and Dr. Timothy Malloy also presented to attendees.

Residents, subinterns announced for 2021-22

The Department of Family Medicine will welcome new house officers for the traditional, military, and rural training track programs for the 2021-2022 year. Six UNMC medical students will also be joining through the Advanced Rural Training Program as subinterns.

UNMC Match Day was held on March 19.

Taylor Bequette
Stephanie Emig
Blake Hass
Cody Masters
Anna Ripp
Leo Tyler

Current Advanced Rural Training Program
Sarah Marlatt – UNMC
Haley Mathews – UNMC
Jacob Vasa – UNMC
Jeffrey Wallman – UNMC

Traditional, Urban Underserved
Brendan George – University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine
Ralph Hauke – UNMC
Michael Schulte – Creighton University School of Medicine
Ryan Wendt – University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine

Air Force
Alexander Edwards – University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Ethan Miller – University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences
Boone Parkinson – Des Moines University
Hannah Pyle – St. Louis University School of Medicine
Kate Seideman – Western University of Health Sciences
Sarah Szybist – Rocky Vista University College of Medicine
Natasha Yousaf – West Virginia University School of Medicine

Rural Training Track

Grand Island
Jordan E. Kunz – UNMC

Nathan E. Harris – UNMC

North Platte
Jordan K. Cockerill – St. Martinsus University

Eduardo A. Gonzalez Fernandez – Univ Autonoma de Nuevo Leon Facultad de Medicina
Ann Iype – Kasturba Medical College of Manipal – India

2021-2022 Chief Residents Announced

The Department of Family Medicine Residency Program announced the new Chief Residents for the 2021-2021 academic year: Ali Bauer and Tobi Ogun.

Ali is a graduate of the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and is from Lyons, Michigan. Tobi is from Nigeria and a graduate of Poznan University of Medical Sciences.

A special thanks to outgoing chiefs – Jordan Rennicke and Hannah Siel for their hard work and dedication to the residency program throughout this challenging year.