Graduate Student Association

Officers

PRESIDENT: 

Tyler Scherr

About:  I am working in Dr. Tammy Kielian’s lab in the Pathology & Microbiology department.

        Home town: Aberdeen, South Dakota

Interests: Disc golf, 3D Printing, Stand-up Comedy

Words of advice: Chop wood and carry water; keep plugging away and good things will happen

        Contact information: tyler.scherr@unmc.edu

VICE PRESIDENT: 

Shalis Ammons

About:  I am working in Dr. Vimla Band’s lab in the Genetics, Cell Biology, and Anatomy department.

        Hometown: Hampton, Virginia

Interests: Bowling, Tennis, Movie-Connoisseur, and food tastings.

Words of Advice: “Shoot for the Moon, because even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” A quote by Les Brown that means you should set your goals high and to always try to follow your dreams. Nothing ventured, nothing gained

Contact information: shalis.ammons@unmc.edu

SECRETARY: 

Rajvi Wani

About: I am working with Dr. Chen in the Health Services Research and Administration  department.

Hometown: Mumbai, India

Interests: Watching Broadways, comedy shows and concerts; trying new restaurants and traveling.

Words of advice: Imagination is its own form of courage; use courage to meet your goals.

Contact information: rajvi.wani@unmc.edu

 

TREASURER: 

Shashank Shrishrimal

About: I am working in Dr. Green’s lab in the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology department.

       Home town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India.

Interests:  Genomic research, Astronomy, Philosophy, Economics and Horse riding

Words of Advice: Life is short, make the most of it.

Fun Fact: Spent 10 years of my life with Horses.

Contact information: shashank.shrishrimal@unmc.edu

 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT CO-CHAIR: 

Simarjeet Kaur Negi

About: I am working with Dr. Babu Guda in the Biomedical Informatics/GCBA department.

       Home town: Ludhiana, India

Interests: I enjoy cooking and love to experiment with new recipes, hiking, makeup artistry

Words of advice: Your greatest fears are created by your imagination. Don’t give in to them

Contact information: simarjeet.negi@unmc.edu

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT CO-CHAIR: 

Zoumana Traore

zou

About: I am working with Dr. Medcalf in the Center for Biosecurity, Biopreparedness, and Emerging Infectious Diseases department.

Contact information: zoumana.traore@unmc.edu

 

INTERPROFESSIONAL EDUCATION CO-CHAIR: 

Keenan Thomas Hartert

About: I am working in Dr. Green’s lab in the Cancer Research Graduate Program (CRGP) department.

        Home town: Glenwood Springs Colorado

Interests: Skiing, hockey, and hiking

“Whatever you are, be a good one.” – Abraham Lincoln

Contact information: keenan.hartert@unmc.edu

 

ALUMNI CHAIR: 

Timothy Bielecki

About: I am working in Dr. Hamid Band’s lab in the Cancer Research Graduate Program (CRGP) department.

Contact information: tim.bielecki@unmc.edu

OUTREACH CHAIR: 

Kristin Elizabeth Wipfler

About: I am working with Dr. Babu Guda in the Genetics, Cell Biology, and Anatomy department.

       Home town: Omaha, NE

Interests: gaming, politics, activism, naps

Words of advice: To paraphrase the great Neil deGrasse Tyson, know more today about the world than you knew yesterday   and lessen the suffering of others.

Contact information: kristin.wipfler@unmc.edu

SOCIAL CO-CHAIR: 

Margaret Anne Taylor

About: I am working in Dr. Amar Natarajan’s lab at Eppley.

Contact information: margaret.taylor@unmc.edu

SOCIAL CO-CHAIR: 

Cheng Wang

About: I am working in Dr. Kai Fu’s lab at Pathology & Microbiology department.

        Hometown: Weifang, Shandong Province, China

Interests: Dancing, swimming

       Words of advice: Be fully present

Contact information: cheng.wang@unmc.edu

 

 

UTILITY CO-CHAIR: 

William Payne

About: I am working in Dr. Aaron Mohs’ lab in the Pharmaceutical Sciences department.

Hometown: Pendleton, Indiana

Interests: Hiking, hunting & fishing, electronics, computer programming

Words of advice: Don’t be afraid to ask questions, even experts have more to learn

Contact information: : william.payne@unmc.edu

UTILITY CO-CHAIR: 

Songita Choudhury

About: I am working in Dr. Thomas Porter’s lab in the Cellular & Integrative Physiology/Internal Medicine department.

Hometown: Clovis, California

Interests: Playing music, trying new restaurants, photography

Words of advice: “Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently.” –Henry Ford

Contact information: : songita.choudhury@unmc.edu

Leave a Reply