Graduate Student Association

Officers

PRESIDENT: 

Tayla Heavican

Year: 3RD
Lab: Dr. Javeed Iqbal
Department: Pathology and Microbiology
Hometown: Columbus, Nebraska
Interests: Travelling, photography, and attending concerts
Words of Advice: “You will never fail until you stop trying”- Albert Einstein
Contact Information: tayla.heavican@unmc.edu

 

VICE PRESIDENT: 

Richard Lee Sleightholm

Year: 4TH
Lab: Dr. David Oupicky
Department: Pharmaceutical Sciences
Hometown: Kansas City, Missouri
Interests: Rock climbing, canoeing, camping, restaurant hunting, traveling the world
Words of Advice: No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change the world.
Contact Information: richard.sleightholm@unmc.edu

 

SECRETARY: 

Saswati Karmakar

Year: 3RD
Lab: Dr. Surinder Batra
Department: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Hometown: New Delhi, India
Interests: Painting, singing, interacting with people from diverse cultures
Words of Advice: Never lose faith in the strength of sincerity and determination
Contact Information: saswati.karmakar@unmc.edu

 

TREASURER: 

Brady Sillman

Year: 5TH
Lab: Dr. Howard Gendelman
Department: Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience Department
Hometown: Omaha, Nebraska
Interests: Sports (especially Nebraska football, GBR!), concerts, traveling, and camping
Words of Advice: “Believe you can and you’re halfway there”- Theodore Roosevelt
Contact Information: brady.sillman@unmc.edu

 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT CHAIR: 

Insiya Mukadam

Year: 2ND
Lab: Dr. Tanya Bronich
Department: Pharmaceutical Sciences
Hometown: Pune, India
Interests: Reading, traveling, and being creative
Words of advice: Life never throws at you anything you’re not capable of handling.
Contact: Insiya.mukadam@unmc.edu

 

INTERPROFESSIONAL EDUCATION CHAIR: 

Ethan Schroeder

Year: 3RD
Lab: Dr. Jyothi Arikkath
Department: Genetics, Cell Biology, and Anatomy
Hometown: Yankton, SD
Interests: Traveling, astronomy, weightlifting
Words of Advice: “If you ain’t first, you’re last.”- Reese Bobby
Contact Information: ethan.schroeder@unmc.edu

 

ALUMNI CHAIR: 

Nicholas Wojtynek

Year: 2ND
Lab: Dr. Aaron Mohs
Department: Eppley
Hometown: Westchester, Illinois
Interests: Music (piano and trumpet), hockey, fishing, outdoors
Words of Advice: Go Cubs Go!
Contact Information: nicholas.wojtynek@unmc.edu

 

OUTREACH CHAIR: 

Eliezer (Eli) Lichter

Year: 1ST
Lab: Dr. Rebecca Oberley-Deegan
Department: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Hometown: New Square NY
Interests: Exploring the world, philosophy, and technology
Words of Advice: “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” – Gandalf

 

SOCIAL CO-CHAIR: 

Alisha Aggarwal

Year: 1ST

Lab: Dr. Li Wu Chen
Department: Health Services Research and Administration
Hometown: Chandigarh, India
Interests: Painting, Music, Hiking and Travelling
Words of Advice: Life is a play of chance in a game of choice.
Contact Information: alisha.aggarwal@unmc.edu

 

SOCIAL CO-CHAIR:

Swagat Sharma

Year: 2ND
Lab: Dr. Corey Hopkins
Department: Pharmaceutical Sciences
Hometown: Gujarat, India
Interests: Music, Dance
Words of Advice: Do good so that good follows you
Contact Information: swagat.sharma@unmc.edu

 

STUDENT WELLNESS CHAIR: 

Aneesha Dasgupta

Year: 3RD
Lab: Dr. Pankaj Singh
Department: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Hometown: New Delhi, India
Interests: Swimming, reading, watching movies and plays
Words of Advice: Everything is worth at least one try, even if it seems beyond your reach. Remember the universe is filled with surprises.
Contact Information: aneesha.dasgupta@unmc.edu

 

STUDENT ENGAGEMENT CHAIR: 

Joel Frandsen

Year: 3RD
Lab: Dr. Prabagaran Narayanasamy
Department: Pathology and Microbiology
Hometown: Grand Island, Nebraska
Interests: Reading, music, MMA, jiu jitsu
Words of Advice: If you will it, Dude, it is no dream.
Contact Information: joel.frandsen@unmc.edu

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.