Graduate Student Association

Officers

PRESIDENT: 

Swagat Sharma

Year: 3rd

Lab: Dr. Corey Hopkins
Department: Pharmaceutical Sciences
Hometown: Gujarat, India
Interests: Music, Dance
Words of Advice: Do good so that good follows you
Contact Information: swagat.sharma@unmc.edu

 

VICE PRESIDENT: 

Scott Mulder

Year: 3rd

Lab: Dr. Pankaj Singh
Department: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Hometown: Sioux Falls, SD
Interests: Cooking, baking, biking, board games
Words of Advice: “When you have made as many mistakes as I have then you can be as good as me.”- Wolfgang Puck
Contact Information: scott.mulder@unmc.edu

 

SECRETARY: 

Ryan McGuire Singh

Year: 2nd

Lab: Dr. Vinai Thomas
Department: Pathology and Microbiology
Hometown: Colts Neck, New Jersey
Interests: Hanging out with friends, science fiction, videogames, open discourse
Words of Advice: It is better to wake up late and be awake all day than to wake up early and be asleep all day
Contact Information: ryan.singh@unmc.edu

 

TREASURER: 

Rajan S. Bhattarai 

Year: 3rd
Lab: Dr. Mahato
Department:
Pharmaceutical sciences
Hometown:
Kathmandu
Interests:
Traveling, movies, books, sports
Words of Advice:
“The heights by great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they, while their companions slept, were toiling upward in the night”
Contact Information: r.bhattarai@unmc.edu

 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT CHAIR: 

Alisha Aggarwal

Year:  3rd 

Lab: Dr. Li Wu Chen
Department: Health Services Research Administration and Policy
Hometown: Chandigarh, India
Interests: Reading, traveling, and being creative
Words of advice: Life is a play of chance in a game of choice.
Contact: alisha.aggarwal@unmc.edu

 

INTERPROFESSIONAL EDUCATION CHAIR: 

Contact Information: gsapres@unmc.edu

 

ALUMNI CHAIR: 

Nicholas Wojtynek

Year: 4th

Lab: Aaron Mohs
Department: Eppley Institute for Cancer Research
Hometown: Westchester, Illinois
Interests: Hockey, piano, guitar, skiing, hiking, fishing, everything outdoors
Words of Advice: Go Hawks! Go Cubs! Go Bears!
Contact Information: nicholas.wojtynek@unmc.edu

 

OUTREACH CHAIR: 

Navneet Kaur

Year:  3rd 

Lab: Dr. Jennifer Black
Department: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Hometown: Nurpur, India
Interests: Traveling, reading, nature photography, animated and action movies
Words of Advice: When things go out of hand, just quit thinking, eat your favorite food, and take a power nap.
Contact Information: navneet.kaur@unmc.edu

 

SOCIAL CO-CHAIR: 

Pranita Atri

Year: 3rd

Lab: Dr. Surinder Batra
Department: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Hometown: New Delhi, India
Interests: Reading, reading, and more reading
Words of Advice: “The best way out is always through.” – Robert Frost
Contact Information: p.atri@unmc.edu

 

SOCIAL CO-CHAIR:

Bedant Chakraborty

Year: 2ND

Department: Health Services research and administration
Hometown: Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India.
Interests: Driving, Dancing, Body-building (new to it), singing.
Words of Advice: “Persistence is essential.”
Contact Information: bedant.chakraborty@unmc.edu

 

STUDENT WELLNESS CHAIR: 

Xinyue Li

Year: 3RD

Lab: Dr. Jennifer Black
Department: Eppley Institute for Cancer Research
Hometown: Jilin, China
Interests: Traveling, photography, sports, cooking
Words of Advice: Nothing worthwhile comes easily. Nothing great can be achieved quickly and effortlessly. If you want to blossom in life, you will have to put more into it than other people do.
Contact Information: xinyue.li@unmc.edu

 

STUDENT ENGAGEMENT CHAIR: 

Joel Frandsen

Year: 3RD
Lab: Dr. Prabagaran Narayanasamy
Department: Pathology and Microbiology
Hometown: Grand Island, Nebraska
Interests: Reading, music, MMA, jiu jitsu
Words of Advice: If you will it, Dude, it is no dream.
Contact Information: joel.frandsen@unmc.edu

 

Interprofessional Education Chair:

Willow Hynes-Smith


 

 

 

 

 

 

Year: 4th

Lab: Dr. Shannon Buckley
Department: Cancer Research Doctoral Program (CRGP)
Hometown: Boise, ID
Interests: Playing pick up soccer, reading Brandon Sanderson novels, hiking, and making
Words of Advice: “Now is the best time to start becoming the person you want to be.” -Dieter F. Uchtdorf

Contact Information: Rachel.hynes@unmc.edu

 

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.