School of Allied Health Professions

Susanne Bishop joins CLS faculty

Susanne BishopSusanne Bishop, MS, MLS(ASCP)CMSBBCM, is a new assistant professor in our Clinical Laboratory Science (CLS) Education program. Susanne earned her bachelor’s degree in Education in 2005 from UNO and her bachelor’s degree in Clinical Laboratory Science at UNMC in 2007. She went on to earn a Master’s degree in Clinical Laboratory Science from the University of North Dakota in 2014.

Here’s a little more about Susanne in her own words:

“Prior to joining the CLS program faculty, I worked at Bryan Medical Center in Lincoln, NE for one year as the Laboratory Section Coordinator of Transfusion Medicine. Before that, I worked at the American Red Cross in Omaha, NE for six years in the Immunohematology Reference Laboratory.

In my free time, I enjoy spending time with my family, friends, and my dogs. I also enjoy gardening and hiking.”

Glad to have you on our SAHP team, Susanne!

Annual SAHP Awards Ceremony and Forum on Evidence-Based Medicine

The annual School of Allied Health Professions Awards Ceremony took place on Wednesday, April 30, 2014.

This alt=""year’s recipient of the SAHP Excellence in Research Award was Ka-Chun (Joseph) Siu, PhD, assistant professor, division of physical therapy education. This award recognizes significant research contributions and addition to the knowledge of the clinical, scientific, and/or educational community.

alt=""Kathleen Volkman, PT, MS, NCS, assistant professor, division of physical therapy education, was honored for Excellence in Teaching. Nominees for this award must have a faculty appointment in the SAHP and demonstrate outstanding skills in directing learning, advising students, and facilitating effective interaction between faculty and students and between students.

alt=""Dennis Strauss, MD, was recognized for his Outstanding Service to the Allied Health Professions. Each year we recognize someone who has made extraordinary contributions in health care, education or service that result in the significant advancement of the School and the allied health professions.

Students gather to listen to Iman Ahmad, PhD, explain her poster at the SAHP Forum on Evidence-Based Medicine.

Each spring, in conjunction with the awards ceremony, the School of Allied Health Professions sponsors a Forum on Evidence-Based Medicine. The forum showcases faculty and student posters in three categories: educational exhibits, critical reviews, and research. This year, 85 students, 25 faculty, and two staff participated with 78 posters.

A book of the abstracts presented at the forum is available on the forum website:


CLS Takes Part in Nebraska Science Festival

submitted by Kevin McGuire
The Clinical Laboratory Science Department hosted a booth at the 2014 Nebraska Science Festival April 24th and 25th at the Durham Museum. Over 1,000 students visited the booth for an opportunity to extract their own DNA and take it home in a test tube! Long lines demonstrated the students’ excitement to see their DNA.