University of Nebraska Medical Center

2022 Annual CAHP Awards Winners

awards on a table

At the convocation ceremony in May, we honored the recipients of the College of Allied Health Professions (CAHP) annual awards. The Awards and Recognition Committee and Research Development and Management Committee were pleased to announce the 2022 CAHP Awardees:

Portrait of Kevin McGuireAssistant Professor and Chemistry Coordinator for Medical Laboratory Science in the Department of Clinical, Diagnostic, & Therapeutic Sciences Kevin McGuire, MHPTT, MLS(ASCP)CM, was honored for Excellence in Teaching. This award recognizes a faculty member who is outstanding in the areas of directing learning, advising students, facilitating human relations, and promoting improvement of educational quality.

portrait of Jana PonceAssociate Professor in Medical Nutrition in the Department of Medical Sciences Jana Ponce, PhD, RD, LMNT, received the Significance in Research Award for a Junior Researcher. This award honors a junior faculty member whose research has added emerging knowledge to the scientific, clinical, and/or educational community.

portrait of James JanzenClinical Coordinator in Hematology/Coagulation for Medical Laboratory Science in the Department of Clinical, Diagnostic, & Therapeutic Sciences James Janzen, MLS(ASCP) CM, SH(ASCP)CM, was selected as the recipient of the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award. This award recognizes a clinical preceptor who has demonstrated excellence in clinical teaching and has made significant contributions to the educational development of future allied health professionals.

portrait of Michael KozakThe College recognized Instructional Designer in UNMC Academic Technologies Michael J. Kozak, MA, with the award for Outstanding Service to the Allied Health Professions. This award honors individuals whose contributions have been significant to the education of allied health professions students as well as the advancement of the professions.

The Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) team received the Innovative Scholarship Award. This award honors faculty who demonstrate ingenuity and creativity in the development of new methods or ideas resulting in the revision or improvement of a process or the creation of a new educational, clinical, or scholarly product.

The POCUS Team members: Program Director and Professor Kim Michael, MA, RT(R), RDMS, RVT, FSDMS, and Clinical Education Coordinator and Assistant Professor Kate Wampler, MA, RT(R), RDMS, RVT, both in the Division of Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Department of Clinical, Diagnostic, & Therapeutic Sciences; and Associate Professor Christopher J. Smith, MD, and Assistant Professor Tabatha Holtz Mattias, DO, both in the Division of Hospital Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine in the UNMC College of Medicine.

Portraits of Tabatha Holtz Mattias, DO, Kim Michael, Christopher J. Smith, MD, and Kate Wampler
Top: Tabatha Holtz Mattias, DO, and Kim Michael; Bottom: Christopher J. Smith, MD, and Kate Wampler

More photos from convocation and the awards ceremony are in this Flickr album.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.