University of Nebraska Medical Center

UNMC Radiography Students are Student Bowl Champions at Annual Conference

MITS Faculty and students had a busy weekend in Kearney at the 88th Annual Nebraska Society of Radiologic Technology Annual Conference, which kicked off with the annual Student Bowl Competition. Sixteen teams competed, each with three radiography students from programs throughout the state.

Three UNMC teams participated and all made it to semi-finals. Erin Shannon, McKenna Butler, and Radiel Cardentey-Uranga won the competition and grabbed the 2019 Student Bowl Champions title! The other UNMC teams were Logan Teten, Katherine White, and Bailey Sokolowski; and Carissa Carlin, Kendra Henry, and Cacey Vavra.

Faculty members, Tanya Custer, Mike Dutt, Kim Michael, Ellie Miller, Greg Mehrer, and Tammy Webster, PhD, attended the conference, along with Diagnostic Medical Sonography, MRI, Radiation Therapy, and junior and senior Radiography students from Columbus, Kearney, and Omaha campuses.


  • Tanya Custer and Kim Michael presented a lecture titled “An Introduction to Mindfulness for Imaging Professionals”
  • Greg Mehrer presented a lecture titled “The Chaging World of Ethical Dilemmas”

Board Member Elections/Board & Committee Participation

  • Nolan Vasa (MRI, CT Practicum & Radiography program graduate) was will serve as President for the 2019-2020 year.
  • Mike Dutt was elected as Vice President; served and will continue to serve on the student symposium committee for the conference.
  • Tanya Custer served and will continue to serve as Advisory Board Member and student bowl coordinator for the 2019-2020 year.
  • Greg Mehrer served and will continue to serve as the Awards and Trophies coordinator for the conference.

The conference was once again, very successful for the students and faculty; the following is a list of honors and awards received:

UNMC NSRT Student Board Representatives
Cacey Vavra (RT Senior) Cacey has also been selected to attend the ASRT Educational Symposium & House of Delegates meeting this summer in Orlando. Victor Amaya (MRI), Demi Anderson (RTT), Dillon Heckendorn (CVIT), Tatum Allensworth (DMS), Gabriella Marco (RT Junior)

Student scientific essay competition winner
First Place (tie)
Kendra Henry – “Radiofrequency Catheter Ablation of Accessory Pathways Associated with Wolff-Parkinson-White Syndrome”
Erin Shannon – “Tetralogy of Fallot: A Literature Review”

Registered Technologist scientific exhibit presentation
Second Place –Stephanie Vas and Michael Dutt
“The Expanding Role of CT Lung Screening”
First Place –Ellie Miller, Tammy Webster and Greg Mehrer
“Succession of a Scaphoid Imaging Protocol”

Ellie Miller and Michael Dutt with their certificates

Registered Technologist/Full time student scientific poster presentation
First Place – McKenna Zeller and Shannon Jenkins
“The Abscopal Effect”
Second Place – Nicole Holte and Demi Anderson
“Reducing Cardiac and Lung Dose During Radiation Therapy”
Third Place – Emily Jensen, Nikki Ohlinger and Daniel Sullivan
“The Use of Protons in Radiation Oncology”

Student scientific poster presentation
Third Place – Alexis Farris(RT)
“The Gamma Knife in Stereotactical Radiosurgery”

Students who attended the Awards Banquet

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.