University of Nebraska Medical Center

2018 Annual CAHP Awards Ceremony and Forum

The annual College of Allied Health Professions Awards Ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 from 1:05 p.m. to 2:00 p.m in MSC 3002.

Joseph Anderson, MD, professor of radiology, will be honored for Excellence in Teaching. Recipients of this award hold a faculty appointment in the CAHP and demonstrate outstanding skills in directing learning, advising students, and facilitating effective interaction between faculty and students and between students.

The College will recognize Emily McElroy, MLIS, assistant vice-chancellor for academic affairs, and director, McGoogan Library of Medicine, as well as the McGoogan Library of Medicine Staff, for their Outstanding Service to the Allied Health Professions. This award recognizes extraordinary contributions in health care, education or service that result in the significant advancement of the College and the allied health professions.

The recipient of this year’s Innovative Scholarship Award is Wayne Mathews, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, associate professor and director of research in the Division of Physician Assistant Education. This award recognizes a faculty member who has made significant contributions to the advancement of teaching in health professions education through the development of innovative teaching approaches, and who have disseminated their innovation, through presentations and publications.

Anne Skinner, MS, RHIA, assistant professor in CAHP research, will receive the Significance in Research Award. This award is based on accomplishments, publications, research that adds significant knowledge to the scientific, clinical, or educational community, and contributions to the College of Allied Health Professions.

Scott Ehresman, MD, was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award. This award recognizes a CAHP clinical instructor for excellence in clinical teaching and significant contributions to the educational development of future allied health professionals. Dr. Ehresman practices family medicine in Holdrege, NE, and serves as a preceptor for students in the CAHP Physician Assistant program.

Each spring, in conjunction with the awards ceremony, the CAHP sponsors a Forum on Evidence-Based Medicine. This will be the second year a concurrent poster session will run in Kearney at the Health Science Education Complex. Public viewing of the posters will be from 2:00-3:00 p.m. in the MSC Truhlsen Event Center in Omaha and in the HSEC Commons in Kearney.

The forum highlights student posters in three categories: educational exhibits, critical reviews, and research. This year, 141 students will participate with 86 posters.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.