University of Nebraska Medical Center

Donner among Eight Awardees Selected for ASMCUE 2010 Early-Career Faculty Travel Award

Washington, DC (19 April 2010) – Eight exceptional educators have been chosen to receive the 2010 Early-Career Faculty Travel Award from the American Society for Microbiology Conference for Undergraduate Educators (ASMCUE). Each awardee receives funding to attend the conference and will be formally recognized at the conference, which be held May 20-23, 2010, in San Diego, CA.

ASMCUE offers the Early-Career Faculty Travel Award to increase the conference participation of early-career undergraduate faculty, postdoctoral scientists, or senior-level graduate students interested in teaching careers. The winners of the 2010 Early-Career Faculty Travel Award are as follows:

  • Russell Cossaboom, University of Michigan-Flint, Flint, MI
  • Linsey Donner, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • Jean Huang, Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering, Needham, MA
  • Jeffrey Olimpo, University of Maryland, College Park, MD
  • Jennifer Powell, Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, PA
  • Melissa Schreiber, Valencia Community College, Orlando, FL
  • Heidi Smith, Front Range Community College, Fort Collins, CO
  • Julie Torruellas Garcia, Nova Southeastern University, Lauderdale, FL

Sponsored by the Committee on Undergraduate Education, a committee of the ASM Education Board, ASMCUE is an interactive, four-day conference where educators learn and share the latest information about microbiology and biology as well as their most effective teaching strategies. The conference program includes poster presentations and plenary, concurrent, and exhibit sessions. Participants engage in formal and informal small group discussions among colleagues who are all focused on the same goal – improving teaching and learning in the biological sciences.

For more information about ASMCUE and the Early-Career Faculty Travel Award, please visit www.asmcue.org.

The American Society for Microbiology is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world, composed of more than 40,000 scientists and health professionals. Its mission is to promote research and research training in the microbiological sciences and to assist communication between scientists, policy makers, and the public to improve health, the environment, and economic well-being.


  1. Janice Tompkins says:

    Way to go Linsey! Congratulations!!

  2. Sue Prusia says:

    Congratulations, Linsay!

  3. Pat O says:

    Good for you, Linsey!

  4. Tracey Boesch says:

    Awesome Linsey!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.