Research Funding

Sartorius & Science Prize in Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy

Deadline: October 1, 2018

The annual prize is geared towards researchers focused on basic or translational research that advances regenerative medicine and cell therapy. Established in 2017, it is awarded for outstanding research performed by the applicant and as a mutual endeavour to raise awareness for the field.  Learn more

What is there to win?

  • US$25,000 and a publication of your essay in Science
  • Publishing of the Grand Prize essay and those of up to three runners-up on Science Online
  • 5-year AAAS membership and online subscription to Science
  • Other perks & benefits from the sponsoring company, Sartorius

Win it

Who can participate?

Eligible fields
Entries can be made in the fields of regenerative medicine, cell therapy, gene therapy, immunotherapy as well as materials and tissue engineering.

Every individual scientist who received his or her PhD/MD within the past 10 years may apply.

Required documents
Please submit a 1,000-word essay describing your research and its implications for the field as well as supporting documents.

Present your research to the science world.

Are you a representative of the upcoming generation of thought leaders in your field? Then, go ahead and use this exciting opportunity to introduce yourself and your pioneering research to the world! Together we look forward to receiving your application for the 2019 Sartorius & Science Prize in Regenerative Medicine and Cell Therapy.   Apply now

MS Career Transition Fellowships

The National MS Society is seeking proposals from promising investigators to train and transition into research careers focused on multiple sclerosis:

Career Transition Fellowships

Preliminary applications due May 9; full applications due August 15 

The Career Transition Fellowship targets current postdoctoral trainees who demonstrate both commitment and exceptional potential to conduct MS-related research.

Applicants must hold a doctoral degree (MD, PhD or equivalent) and must be in a research-oriented postdoctoral training program at an academic, government, or non-profit research institution.

Applicants must have between three to five years of postdoctoral research experience at the time of application.

The award provides approximately $550,000 over five years to support a two-year period of advanced postdoctoral training in MS research and the first three years of research support in a new faculty appointment.

To submit a preliminary application for research support, investigators must use our Apply Online site and complete a pre-application. Staff will review the pre-applications and selected applicants will be invited to submit full proposals.

Deadline: Preliminary application due May 9; Full application due August 15

Read more about this funding opportunity and access instructions for applying.

PCORI Cycle 2 2018 Funding Opportunities

The next cycle of research funding opportunities will open on Friday, June 1. Cycle 2 2018 will include three PCORI Funding Announcements (PFAs), one on improving methods for conducting patient-centered outcomes research, a second for the implementation of PCORI-funded patient-centered outcomes research results, and a third looking for projects that fit within our five priority areas for research.

View upcoming opportunities

Implementation of Effective Shared Decision Making Approaches in Practice Settings.  LOI due July 24, 2018

Improving Methods for Conducting Patient-Centered Outcomes Research.  LOI due June 28, 2018

Broad PCORI Funding Announcements.  LOI due June 28, 2018

Limited PCORI Funding announcements.  LOI due June 21, 2018