Research Funding

RFP for Therapeutic Development Opportunities for Neuroprotection and Neuroregeneration in Multiple Sclerosis

Deadline:  December 20, 2017

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society invests in promising research to drive breakthroughs that will stop MS, restore function and end MS forever. As part of its commitment to addressing the needs of individuals affected by MS, the Society invites proposals to establish research partnerships with Fast Forward, LLC to accelerate and support development of therapeutic strategies relevant to MS.

  • The National MS Society has released a Request for Proposals to fund drug development opportunities for therapies promoting neuroprotection and repair. New treatment strategies are needed to stop disease worsening by preventing neurodegeneration and reversing neuronal damage so that lost function can be restored. Although it is recognized that animal models of MS provide only limited insight into the pathophysiology of neurodegenerative process, studies to evaluate impact on demyelination, remyelination, neuroprotection, neural plasticity, and repair are considered appropriate for this RFP
    • Pre-Applications will be accepted starting November 8, 2017.
    • Final date for acceptance of preapplications: December 6, 2017.
    • Full Proposals will be due no later than December 20, 2017.

Areas of high impact for this program include:
* Therapeutic approaches that directly promote remyelination and/or neuroprotection (including stimulation of endogenous repair and cell-based approaches)
* Proof of concept studies with repurposed FDA-approved therapies that have defensible intellectual property or strong commercial viability

Research areas supported by this program include, but are not limited to:
* Early-stage target validation
* Optimization of pre-clinical compounds
* PK/ADMET studies for valid compounds in development
* Imaging studies to measure target occupancy or target-related pharmacodynamic effects that could support a future clinical trial

This RFP is open to global commercial organizations and not-for-profit research institutions collaborating with a commercial organization. Consistent with our goal to support research and development conducted with a high level of quality control typical of the pharmaceutical industry, proposals from not-for-profit institutions will be considered if a majority of the work is conducted at reputable Contract Research Organizations with appropriate expertise relevant to the proposal.

Read more about this opportunity and how to apply.

Nebraska Neuroscience Alliance 2017 RFA

Application Deadline: Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Program Summary

The focus of the 2017 request for applications is Lewy Body Disease and its complications. The disease complex is also known as dementia with Lewy bodies and remains the second most common type of progressive dementia after Alzheimer’s disease. This request is for basic and translational research that will develop a new program of study focused on the cause, the pathogenesis, and possible treatments of disease. Examples for study include the mechanisms underlying the formation of the protein deposits, how they develop in nerve cells in specific brain subregions, relevant animal models for study, and/or biomarker investigations that will aide in unraveling disease formation.

This grant is a single award up to $100,000 ($50,000 year/two years) supporting an interdisciplinary research team for studies and is open to all University of Nebraska campuses. Model systems for study and partnerships between basic and applied clinical studies are encouraged.

Complete instructions, guidelines, and links to forms visit:

Nebraska Neuroscience Alliance 2017 Request for Applications

IDeA-CTR Announces Pilot Grant Program

LOI Deadline:  October 17, 2017

The Great Plains IDeA-CTR Network is pleased to announce an upcoming call for pilot funding through an NIH/NIGMS grant.  We are requesting a Letter of Intent (maximum of two pages) using the template provided.

Up to 25 applicants will be invited to submit a full application. Those invited to submit full applications will be notified by November 17, 2017. Solicited applications will be due December 22, 2017. The RFA and requirements for invitees are detailed below. Please email your LOI and NIH biosketch as a single PDF document to the Great Plains IDeA-CTR Office at

The goal of the pilot program is to provide support to the most promising and novel clinical-translational research (CTR) projects and help investigators obtain preliminary data necessary for successful investigator-initiated extramural grants. Successful applicants will receive up to $50,000 annually, for up to two years, as well as access to resources of the GP IDeA-CTR to support their research efforts.

Applicable Research: Proposed projects must be clinical-translational research. While there are many definitions of CTR, the GP IDeA-CTR uses the following definitions:

Clinical Research is conducted with human subjects (or on material of human origin such as tissues, specimens, and cognitive phenomena) for which an investigator (or colleague) directly interacts with human subjects. Excluded from this definition are in vitro studies that utilize human tissues that cannot be linked to a living individual. Clinical research that will be supported by this granting mechanism includes clinical trials, the development of new technologies, epidemiological and behavioral studies, and outcomes and health services research.

Translational research is about moving applications for treatments, diagnostics and prevention from pre-clinical work to population level impact. Applicants are required to identify the level of translational research proposed using the T1 to T4 descriptions below.

T1   Translation to humans: Seeks to move fundamental discovery into health application.

T2   Translation to patients: Develops health applications with implications for evidence-based practice.

T3   Translation to practice: Investigates the movement of evidence-based guidelines to health practices.

T4   Translation to communities: Investigates the impact of evidence-practice and policies to population health impact/investigators providing communities with the optimal intervention.

For additional questions regarding whether your research satisfies this definition, please contact your local institutional program coordinator (see ‘Eligible Institutions and Contacts’ on page 2). Alternatively, if you have questions about whether your research applies, you may also contact Dr. Howard Fox at or Dr. Paul Estabrooks at Basic science projects (e.g. those using only animal models or cell lines in the absence of patient level data) will not be considered.

Research Priorities: Priorities include a combination of scientific and regional priorities developed by the GP IDeA-CTR Scientific Team and Community Advisory Board. Priority areas are:

  • Behavioral health including, mental health, substance abuse (e.g., opioids and alcohol), and violence as a public health issue
  • Obesity treatment and prevention
  • Aging and Age-related cognitive impairment
  • Injury prevention
  • Technologies and models to improve health access including the evaluation of new or existing tools (e.g., telehealth) with a focus on rural populations.
  • Connecting clinical care and community services (e.g., schools, food banks, YMCAs, etc.)
  • Addressing health disparities based on social determinants, race, ethnicity, and geography

Highest priority will be given to the strongest science and those projects most likely to lead to successful extramural funding. In addition, projects that make an impact on medically disadvantaged, underrepresented minority, and/or geographically or clinically isolated populations—and can introduce or evaluate new tools or technologies useful in these populations—are of high interest.

Download the complete RFA here.