Research Funding

Fullbright Scholar Program

Regional Highlights: East Asia & the Pacific | Europe | MENA | Western Hemisphere

East Asia & the Pacific

The East Asia and the Pacific region offers over 50 award opportunities, and close to 150 grants, for U.S. faculty, researchers, and professionals at every stage of their career through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

Many awards welcome applications from any field of study, and two awards allow for multi-country opportunities within the region, the ASEAN Research Program and the Cross-Strait Studies Research Program. Awards for the 2019-2020 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program include:

Australia: Fulbright Senior Award (Sponsored by Central Queensland University)
China: Social Sciences, Humanities and the Arts (Research)
Japan: Study of the United States (Teaching in Social Sciences and Humanities)
Macao: All Disciplines
Philippines: Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization

Application Deadline: August 1, 2018

For more information about awards to East Asia and the Pacific, visit the 2019-2020 Catalog of Awards or contact us at


The Europe and Eurasia region offers a wide range of opportunities for U.S. academics and professionals to engage in original research and have impactful teaching experiences through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

With 273 awards in 45 European and Eurasian countries, there is diverse range of opportunities: from multi-country opportunities in the European Union to discipline specific awards such as Migration Studies in Marseille, STEM opportunities in Ukraine and France, an Interfaith award in Albania to Early Career and Flex option awards. Awards for the 2019-2020 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program include:

Belgium: Hasselt University All Disciplines Award
Croatia: Business Administration and Economics
Estonia: Multiple Disciplines
France: Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair
Italy: Fulbright Lectureship in Sustainability & Circular Economy at the University of Bologna
United Kingdom: Fulbright-Cancer Research UK Scholar Award
Finland: Fulbright-Aalto University Distinguished Chair
Iceland: Fulbright-National Science Foundation Scholar in Cyber-Security and Critical Infrastructure

Application Deadline: August 1, 2018.

For more information about awards to Europe and Eurasia, visit the 2019-2020 Catalog of Awards or contact us at


Middle East and North Africa (MENA)

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar program to the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) offers unique opportunities for scholars to immerse themselves in one of the most dynamic cultural and social landscapes in the world. Fulbright Scholars to MENA contribute to the region’s legacy of excellence in scholarship through a wide range of awards. From pursuing postdoctoral research in Israel, to training the next generation of educators in Bahrain, to a myriad of All-Discipline awards, MENA Fulbright Scholars have a diverse range of research and teaching options at all career levels and in a variety of fields. MENA-based Fulbright Scholars may also consider a multi-country research grant and also may apply for intraregional travel grants while on the program.



Application Deadline: August 1, 2018.


For more information about awards to the MENA region, visit the 2019-2020 Catalog of Awards or contact

Western Hemisphere

The United States is linked to the countries of the Western Hemisphere by physical proximity, shared values, and vast cultural, commercial, and demographic ties. Through decades of collaboration and partnership, Western Hemisphere nations have built strong networks that facilitate the efficient movement of knowledge, ideas and technology throughout the region.

With close to 60 awards in over 30 countries there is diverse range of opportunities in the Western Hemisphere: from a series of research awards in Canada, a border award with Mexico, to a wide variety of All Disciplines awards throughout Central America and the Caribbean, and a large range of compelling opportunities throughout South America! Awards for the 2019-2020 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program include:

Application Deadline: August 1, 2018.

For more information about awards throughout the Western Hemisphere, visit the 2019-2020 Catalog of Awards or contact us at

Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation RFP

The Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation continues to accelerate research focused on priority areas to address unmet clinical needs in IBD. With that goal, the Foundation has launched two new research initiatives:


Submission deadline: September 7th, 2018.

Additional Funding opportunities:

Senior Research Awards
Litwin IBD Pioneers Initiative
Career Development Award
Research Fellowship Awards
Visiting IBD Research Fellowship Award
Student Award

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. For key dates and application guidelines, please visit our website.

Fondation Leducq 2018-2019 Call for Applications

Transatlantic Networks of Excellence

Fondation Leducq announces a call for applications for the 2018-2019 Transatlantic Networks of Excellence Program, beginning June 1, 2018.

Information about the Transatlantic Networks of Excellence, including evaluation criteria for applications, can be found in the TNE program description.

Information about the application process can be found under Applying to the Transatlantic Networks.

For details about important dates in the 2018-2019 application cycle, please see the Application Timetable 2017-2018.

Fondation Leducq applications are submitted via an online application service hosted by Altum ProposalCENTRAL. Click here to go directly to the application website.


 Fondation Leducq is a private charitable foundation, based in Paris, France, dedicated to improving human health through international efforts to combat cardiovascular and neurovascular disease. In support of this mission the Fondation Leducq has created the Transatlantic Networks of Excellence in Cardiovascular and Neurovascular Research Program, which promotes internationally collaborative basic, translational, and clinical research in cardiovascular and neurovascular disease. The principal aim of this program is to foster outstanding and innovative scientific research by bringing together international teams of researchers with complementary expertise and resources to work together on a common thematic problem. The proposals should aim to generate new knowledge with the potential to advance the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cardiovascular and neurovascular disease. Early career investigators play a vital role in these networks, which provide an excellent context for training and career development in cardiovascular and neurovascular research.


In the 2018-2019 application cycle, the Fondation Leducq will award up to five

Transatlantic Network of Excellence grants, each for an amount not to exceed

U.S. $6,000,000 over five years.