Five people honored with Reba Benschoter Inspirational Leadership Award

Five Department of Psychiatry employees were honored with the Reba Benschoter Inspirational Leadership Award on Jan. 21.

The award, which was first handed out in 2020, is presented to faculty, staff or trainees who exemplify a spirit of leadership, innovation and integrity which inspires others. David Cates, PhD, Laura Schutte-Lundy, LIMHP, LADC; Maggie Emerson, DNP, APRN, PMHNP-BC; Sharon Hammer, MD, and Steven Wengel, MD, were honored for their leadership.

“To me, leadership is largely about helping others be successful, and it’s an honor to work towards that goal in the Department of Psychiatry,” said Dr. Cates, Vice-Chair for Clinical Services in the Department of Psychiatry.

Dr. Emerson, APPs Lead, said the Department of Psychiatry is filled with amazing leaders any of whom deserve to be a recipient of this award.

“It’s truly an honor to be recognized among such a group of wonderful people for a job I truly love,” Dr. Emerson said.

Dr. Wengel, Geriatric Division Director for the Department of Psychiatry, said he was honored and humbled to receive the award.

“It was a complete surprise to me,” Dr. Wengel said. “I’m truly lucky to be able to work with such great colleagues, and really appreciate their nominating me for this recognition.”

“No doubt that this is a moment when we need leaders,” said Howard Liu, MD, MBA, Chair of the Department of Psychiatry. “Wonderful to see our awardees recognized across 4 professions as it is a team effort for academic and clinical excellence.”

Sharing is caring!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.