1st Roccaforte Citizenship Awards handed out at holiday party

Front row (left to right) William H. Roccaforte Citizenship Award recipients Brigette Vaughan, Angie Kuehn, Debbie Randolph and Liz Wiese. Back row: Dr. Soonjo Hwang, Dr. Steven Wengel, Maggie Milner, Dr. Howard Liu and Jeanne Lincoln.

On Jan. 19, the Department of Psychiatry honored five employees with the William H. Roccaforte Citizenship Award.

The award, which was handed out during the department’s holiday party, was named after the longtime UNMC Professor, whom Chair Howard Liu said embodied both humility and daily service. The Citizenship Award goes to a faculty member, staff or trainee who exemplifies a spirit of service, extraordinary teamwork and the passion for going above and beyond each day in service of our mission.

Child Psychiatrist Dr. Ryan Edwards; Department of Psychiatry Research Lead Brigette Vaughan, APRN; Medical Receptionists Angie Kuehn and Debbie Randolph and Office Assistant Liz Wiese were the first recipients of the award.

All five received a $100 bookstore allowance and a clear, cube trophy, nicknamed “The Rock,” after Dr. Roccaforte.

“What a surprising honor this it,” Dr. Roccaforte said. “I have truly enjoyed the activities that I have been a part of since retiring. The department has so many wonderful people to work with that it’s been fun for me to continue to be involved.”

The recipients’ names are listed on a plaque, hanging under “The Eagle” on the fourth floor of Poynter Hall. Five people will be added to the plaque when the awards are handed out at the 2020 holiday party.

Dr. William H. Roccaforte holds “The Rock,” an award named in his honor, next to a plaque naming each recipient.

Dr. Ryan Edwards received the William H. Roccaforte Citizenship Award.

Sharing is caring!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.