McGoogan News

Consumer Health Tips: Toy Safety for Children

December is National Safe Toys and Gifts Month. Each year, thousands of children suffer toy-related accidents, including eye injuries, hearing loss, cuts and bruises, and choking. If you are wondering how to keep your holidays safe and jolly, we have some resources for you! Check out the links below for tips and advice on how to buy safe toys, and what to look for when inspecting new toys that you receive as gifts.

For Kids’ Sake: Think Toy Safety (U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission)
This 2-page handout provides tips for thinking about safety when buying, maintaining, and storing toys.

Safety Toy Checklist (Prevent Blindness)
This checklist provides tips for selecting and inspecting toys to help protect children’s eyesight.

Able Play Toy Guide (Able Play)
Able Play provides a rating system and information for toys for children of all abilities. The site also provides a new toy guide to make play accessible for everyone.

Choosing Safe Toys (KidsHealth)
This article provides information on choosing age-appropriate toys, toy safety in the home, and how to report unsafe toys.

Safety Education Resources: Toys (U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission)
Includes links to different education resources including toy safety alerts, guides for buying and selling toys, and posters.

Winter break hours have started

Please note the following Winter break hours:

Friday, December 15 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 16 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, December 17 1:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Monday – Friday, December 18-22 7:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 23 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, December 24 CLOSED
Monday, December 25 CLOSED
Tuesday – Friday, December 26-29 7:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 30, 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, December 31 CLOSED
Monday, January 1 CLOSED
Tuesday, January 2 – 7:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, January 3 – 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Thursday – Friday, January 4 – 5 – 7:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, January 6 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, January 7 1:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

BioMed Central membership to end

The McGoogan Library’s BioMed Central membership, which provided a 15% discount on article processing charges (APCs) will not be renewed and will end December 31, 2017. During the two and a half years of the membership, only a small number of authors benefited. The return on investment of this membership was very low. By cancelling this membership, the library was able to save other resources from being cancelled.

Register for session on finding experts

Discover several ways to identify experts in your field by using tools like Research Nebraska. Identify current research projects in your area via NIH reporter and Use literature databases like SciFinder, EMBASE and Scopus to trace paths of knowledge via cited and citing reference searches.

December 14, MCPH3001, 3:30pm – 4:30pm REGISTER

December 15, WH8011, 12:00pm – 1:00pm (Livestream available) REGISTER