University of Nebraska Medical Center

Clinical Perfusion students bring home awards

A first-year Clinical Perfusion student has won the annual Nebraska Perfusion Society Scholarship awarded annually to the best essay submitted by perfusion students from around the country. Mr. Robert Ledbetter bested the competition for the $1500 prize on Saturday, February 23, 2013, in Lincoln. Many kudos to Robert and Clinical Perfusion!

This weekend in Las Vegas, our Clinical Perfusion students participated in the International conference for the American Society of Extracorporeal Technology. Among oral presentations by Courtney Petersen, Whitney Western, and Ryan Zavala and also a poster presentation by Kayla Kutilek, there was a “pseudo- Jeopardy” like “Perfusion Bowl” with competitions among all the perfusion schools in the US. Mr. Ryan Zavala and Mr. Cole McCallum competed, winning the competition and bringing home the Blue Ribbon. Way to go Clinical Perfusion Class of 2013!

Mr. Ryan Zavala and Mr. Cole McCallum with their blue ribbon.

Mr. Ryan Zavala and Mr. Cole McCallum with their blue ribbon.


  1. Pat O'Neil says:

    Way to go Perfusion students! Congratulations to all of the participants and Mr. Holt for his excellent teaching!

  2. Michael Huckabee says:

    Another mark of excellence achieved by the clinical perfusion students. Our congratulations – we proud of you and your director and instructors.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.