University of Nebraska Medical Center

Honors at April Forum

The UNMC School of Allied Health Professions (SAHP) honored three individuals — Tobi Schonfeld, Ph.D., Connie Mitchell and Lisa Bartenhagen — for their teaching and service. The awards were presented April 28 during SAHP’s annual Awards Ceremony. Earlier in the day, 101 students and 27 faculty members presented 89 posters during the Student Forum on Evidence-Based Medicine.

The 2010 awardees are: collage2010

  • Teacher of the Year — Lisa Bartenhagen, radiation therapy program director since 2000 and assistant professor in the division of radiation science technology education. During her tenure, the first-time pass rate for radiation therapy graduates has been 100 percent on national boards, as well as being considerably higher than the national average.
  • Outstanding Service — Connie Mitchell, program director, radiography, was recognized for her leadership in several state, national and international professional organizations. Examples of this service include serving as a board member and president of the Nebraska Society of Radiologic Technologists and holding several offices in the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT).
  • Outstanding Contribution to the SAHP — Toby Schonfeld, Ph.D., director of the Center for Humanities, Ethics and Society in the College of Public Health, created and taught an array of both distance education and classroom ethics and critical thinking courses to allied health students since 2002. She served as a courtesy associate professor in SAHP. She has accepted a new role as director of the master of bioethics program at the Center for Ethics at Emory University in Atlanta.

Lisa Bartenhagen and her family

Connie Mitchell and her family

Connie Mitchell and her family

1 comment

  1. Sue Prusia says:

    Congratulations on your awards!

Comments are closed.