News & Events

Faculty and Student Education Awards

College of Public Health Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients Dr. Brandon Grimm and Dr. Sharon Medcalf

Education Highlight- The College of Public Health Excellence in Teaching Award is given for excellence in teaching, including classroom instruction, innovation in teaching methods, advising, and other activities that have promoted and expanded the students’ learning experience. This year’s recipients were Dr. Brandon Grimm and Dr. Sharon Medcalf, both of whom are known not only for the exceptional education they provide to COPH students, but for the high quality, innovative training they deliver to practitioners throughout Nebraska, nationally and globally. In addition to his numerous… Continue Reading

Faculty and Student Research Awards

Each year the College of Public Health awards the Chancellor Robert D. Sparks, M.D., Award in Public Health and Preventive Medicine to a person who has shown outstanding innovation and impact on preventing disease and promoting health through public health education, research, and practice, with particular attention to the needs of Nebraska and its citizens.  The selection is based on the degree to which an individual demonstrates excellence, creativity, and/or distinguished collaboration in advancing effective approaches to preventing disease and promotion of health through public… Continue Reading

Faculty and Students Public Health Practice Awards

Public Health “Impact” Prize Recipient Rebecca Anderson, JD, MS, CGC

The Fred and Eve Simon Public Health “Impact” Prize was established in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Fred and Eve Simon. This award is given to a College of Public Health faculty member whose research and/or service has significantly impacted Nebraska. The recipient of this award was Rebecca Anderson, Associate Professor and Vice Chair in the Department of Health Promotion, Social, and Behavioral Health. Professor Anderson was selected for her excellent service to Nebraska residents through public health leadership, service, and outreach. She has had… Continue Reading

Student Scholarship Recipients, Award Winners, and Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health Inductees

Patte L. Martin Scholarship recipient Moses New-Aaron

Student Highlight – In 2014, Patte Martin established the Patte L. Martin Scholarship Fund at the University of Nebraska Foundation to help support education for public health students. Advancing public health has been a passion of Patte Martin’s throughout her life, from developing the first prenatal class offered in Colorado Springs, Colo., to her work in creating public health services in rural Kansas.  She has advocated for public health — its accessibility — and education in both rural and urban areas. Patte established this scholarship… Continue Reading

Spring 2017 Certificate, MPH, MS and PhD Graduates

COPH Notable Mentions – In the Spring 2017 semester, the following students fulfilled the requirements for the   Certificate in Public Health, Certificate in Community Oriented Primary Care, Master of Public Health, Master of Science in Emergency Preparedness and Doctor of Philosophy. Congratulations to all these graduating students, and best wishes to them in their chosen public health professions! Certificate in Public Health Augustin Bakouan Michelle Beacom Claborn Min Chen Michael Crowe Abigail Hughes Abolore Idris Claire Kankouan Wanying Pei Mikayla Pelnar Anna-Marie Valenziano Master of… Continue Reading

p A bwYJ lOlGyuEP