News & Events

Student Scholarship Recipients, Award Winners, and Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health Inductees

Patte L. Martin Scholarship recipient Moses New-Aaron

Patte L. Martin Scholarship Recipient Moses New-Aaron and COPH Dean Ali S. Khan

Student Highlight – In 2014, Patte Martin established the Patte L. Martin Scholarship Fund at the University of Nebraska Foundation to help support education for public health students. Advancing public health has been a passion of Patte Martin’s throughout her life, from developing the first prenatal class offered in Colorado Springs, Colo., to her work in creating public health services in rural Kansas.  She has advocated for public health — its accessibility — and education in both rural and urban areas. Patte established this scholarship to help support students who, like herself, are the first in their families to attend college and who have a passion for public health. The recipient of the Patte L. Martin Scholarship was Moses New-Aaron, Master of Public Health student with a concentration in biostatistics.

The Carruth J Wagner MD and Chancellor Robert D. Sparks MD foundations also provide generous support for public health students. The selection criteria for the Dr. Carruth J. Wagner, Scholarship in Public Health addresses the student’s career goals and potential for contributions to the field of public health, and views of public health challenges and how leadership in public health may meet those challenges. This scholarship helps support several students annually.

Dr. Carruth J. Wagner, Scholarship in Public Health
Dr. Carruth J. Wagner, Scholarship in Public Health Recipients

The following recipients have met or exceeded these criteria.

Issaka Kabore

Shreya Roy

Mariam Taiwo



United States Public Health Service, 2017 Excellence in Public Health Award Recipient

The United States Public Health Service, 2017 Excellence in Public Health Award recognizes medical students who show their dedication to public health by making exceptional contributions to the community and who increase the U.S. Public Health Service’s mission to protect, promote and advance the health and safety of the nation. Katelyn Jelden, a 2016 graduate from COPH’s MPH program and current student in UNMC’s College of Medicine received the award this year, presented to her by Commander Kurt Kesteloot at COPH’s Spring Convocation. Throughout her time at COPH, Katelyn was an integral member of the Nebraska Patient Care Biocontainment Unit, which was activated as a part of Ebola care and response efforts in 2014. She was responsible for everything from preparing ambulances for patient transport to presenting course content for the CDC’s Ebola training courses. Her involvement continues, and has led to seven publications with an additional four in press or review. In addition to Katelyn’s accomplishments in the areas of infectious diseases and occupational health and safety, she was an active student leader at COPH. She helped found the UNMC Student Response Team, served on the UNMC Student Senate, was an APHA Student Assembly Liaison and served with UNMC’s Bridge to Care program, working to improve the health of recently resettled refugees in the Omaha area. Katelyn’s contributions to public health have already been extensive locally and globally, and are sure to continue as she pursues her medical training.


Gamma Omicron Chapter of Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health Inductees.

Jessica Semin

Kushal Karan

Katherine Kotas

Niodita Gupta

Brock Hanisch

Brian Burleigh

Aurora Le (NA)

Ashley Robertson Newmyer

Chandran Achutan (NA)

Paul Estabrooks

Jessica Tschirren

Leave a Reply