Department of Psychiatry hands out Teacher Awards

Frank J. Menolascino Outstanding Student in Psychiatry Award

This award is given each year to a graduating medical student based on interest in the field of Psychiatry. Students must show excellent clinical skills demonstrated during the Psychiatry Clerkship, commitment to caring for those with mental illness and demonstration leadership among their peers. This award, which is recognized at the Honors Convocation. was established to honor Frank J. Menolascino, M.D., an authority on mental health among persons with intellectual development disorders and developmental disabilities. He was the chairman of Department of Psychiatry for both the University of Nebraska Medical Center and Creighton University.

Recipient: Jessica Thai, M.D.

Ember Award in UNMC Medical Student Education Excellence
The Department of Psychiatry is “recognizing a resident physician whose glowing teaching quality, burning passion and service ignites a fire in UNMC medical students.”

Siva Sundeep Koppolu, M.B.B.S.
Geoffrey (Geoff) Allison, M.D.

Nathan E. Bruce, D.O. Volunteer Teacher of the Year (volunteer faculty)
This award recognizes Dr. Nathan Bruce, an outstanding volunteer teacher, who made a lasting impact on medical education. The awardee models conscientious patient care, meritorious teaching and mentorship of students in the spirit of Dr. Bruce.

Recipient: Marin Broucek, M.D.

Lantern Award in Graduate Medical Education
This award acknowledges the significant contributions to the education of residents and fellows.” The recipient lights the way in leading by example.

Recipient: Ryan Edwards, M.D.

Flint Award in Educational Excellence (Faculty)
“This award recognizes an individual whose teaching quality and passion creates a spark in the department.” You exemplify this spirit with your innovative teaching of medical students, residents, staff or faculty.

Recipient: Alena Balasanova, M.D.

Steel Award in Educational Engagement (Faculty)
This award recognizes [an] individual whose daily teaching services illuminates the department.” The faculty member provides outstanding and sustaining contributions to the education mission of UNMC.

Recipient: Thomas Magnuson, M.D.

Teacher of the Year (non-physician)
This award recognizes an individual whose outstanding teaching has had a positive and significant impact on medical education. We wish to recognize your contribution to interprofessional education to the department.

Recipient: Mark Aksamit, PA-C

Sharing is caring!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.