University of Nebraska Medical Center

RSTE Students and Faculty Receive Awards

The 2013 Nebraska Society of Radiologic Technologists (NSRT) Annual Conference, held in Kearney, proved to be well represented by UNMC students and faculty.

photo of Tammy Jones

Tammy Jones accepts Technologist of the Year award.

The biggest news was that Tammy Jones received the 2013 NSRT Radiologic Technologist of the Year award. It came as a surprise to Tammy, but not to anyone else. 🙂

UNMC students and faculty captured many other awards at the conference.
Student Essay

1st Place- Sarah Johnson
3rd Place- Kristy Stevens

Student Exhibit
2nd Place- Karlyn Miller
3rd Place- Corey Andrews

RT Student Exhibit
1st Place- Dana Riter
2nd Place- Prestan Kiichler
3rd Place- Donna Bart

RT Exhibit
1st Place- Connie Mitchell, Brandon Holt, Rob Hughes
2nd Place- Tanya Custer and Lisa Bartenhagen
3rd Place- Tammy Jones

The Radiography students also participated in the Student Quiz Bowl and Symposium.


  • Tanya Custer served as NSRT Advisory Board Member, Student Quiz Bowl Coordinator, Continuing Education Lecturer, UNMC/RSTE Alumni Event Organizer and Host, as well as operated the UNMC recruitment booth.
  • Jim Temme continues to serve as NSRT Awards/Medallions Coordinator and RT to DC representative.
  • Christina Araujo was elected by the membership body to serve as the 2013-2014 NSRT Nominations Chairman.
  • The 2012-2013 NSRT Student Representatives are: Sarah Johnson, Brittney Smith, Jacey Fisher, Tim VanGeem, and Melissa Bauer.
  • UNMC served as the coordinator for the Educators’ Meetings held during the 2012-2013 year.

Kudos to all!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Xlz i