Research Funding

Melanoma Research Foundation Invites Applications for Research Awards

Deadline: March 2, 2020

The Melanoma Research Foundation was originally founded in 1996 by Diana Ashby, who through the course of her own melanoma cancer treatment became disheartened at the lack of effective medical treatment options. Driven by her empathy for fellow sufferers and determined to change the trajectory of those impacted by the disease, the Melanoma Research Foundation was born. Though Diana tragically died within a year of its founding, the foundation continues to honor her memory by championing research and disseminating education around the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of the disease.

In 2020, a number of research awards will be offered:

Established Investigator Awards (EIA) — Grants of up to $200,000 over two years will be awarded to established or senior melanoma researchers, or those who wish to transition into melanoma research.

Career Development Awards (CDA) — Grants of up to $100,000 over two years will be awarded to junior investigators who are beginning their career in melanoma research.

Young Investigator Research Team Award — Grants of up to $300,000 over two years will be awarded to an investigative team consisting of junior investigators and senior mentors to advance the field of translational immuno-oncology.

Medical Student Awards — One-year grants of up to $3,000 will be given to encourage medical students to engage in a short melanoma research-driven clinical or laboratory-based project.

Eligible candidates must hold a PhD, MD, or equivalent.

See the Melanoma Research Foundation website for a detailed program description and application instructions.

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.