Research Funding

2019 AHA Merit Award Accepting Letters of Intent

The American Heart Association (AHA) is now accepting letters of intent for the 2019 AHA Merit Award. The award supports individual scientists with a trajectory of success, who propose novel approaches to major research challenges in the areas of cardiovascular diseases and stroke that have the potential to produce unusually high impact. Letters of Intent must be submitted through Grants@Heart , the AHA’s online application and award system, on or before Tuesday, July 24, 2018.

Only Merit Award applicants who submit a LOI and are invited to apply may submit a full application; AHA will contact applicants in early September regarding their status after LOI review.

Please see below for a complete list of deadlines for all 2018-19 AHA programs.

2018-2019 AHA Funding Opportunities Timeline*

Letter of Intent Deadline
(If applicable)
Application Deadline Funding Notification Award Start Date
AHA Predoctoral Fellowship Wed., July 11, 2018 Nov. 2018 Jan. 1, 2019
AHA Postdoctoral Fellowship Thurs., July 12, 2018 Nov. 2018 Jan. 1, 2019
Institutional Undergraduate Student Fellowship Wed., July 18, 2018 Dec. 2018 Jan. 1, 2019
AHA Institutional Research Enhancement Award Thurs., July 19, 2018 Dec. 2018 Jan. 1, 2019
Merit Award Tues., July 24, 2018 Invited Applicants:
Thurs., Oct. 11, 2018
Jan. 2019 April 1, 2019
Collaborative Sciences Award Tues., Oct. 9, 2018 Invited Applicants:
Thurs., Jan. 31, 2019
May 2019 July 1, 2019
Career Development Award Wed., Oct. 17, 2018 March 2019 July 1, 2019
Established Investigator Award Tues., Oct. 23, 2018 Tues., Jan. 15, 2019 March 2019 April 1, 2019
Innovative Project Award Mon., Oct. 29, 2018 Invited Applicants:
Thurs., Jan. 17, 2019
May 2019 July 1, 2019
Transformational Project Award Wed., Jan. 23, 2019 May 2019 July 1, 2019

*Subject to change.

Monitor the AHA Application Information Web page for updates about subsequent programs. You can begin preparing your application, even if Grants@Heart is not yet open for the program to which you will apply. The Supporting Documents page lists the documents that will need to be uploaded as part of the application. Click on each document title for specific instructions.

Contact Us

AHA research staff is available Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 p.m. Central Time to assist with the application process and to answer questions. Contact us by emailing apply@heart.org or by calling 214-360-6107, option 1.

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.