University of Nebraska Medical Center

Awards presented at College of Public Health convocation

Students and faculty receiving awards

Faculty and student awards were presented at the College of Public Health’s convocation held May 4.

The following College of Public Health faculty members and students were honored:

Excellence in Teaching Award: Lorena Baccaglini, D.D.S., Ph.D., associate professor, epidemiology, for her ability to break down and teach complex statistical concepts with humor and enthusiasm.

Carruth J. Wagner, M.D., Faculty Prize in Public Health: Fernando Wilson, Ph.D., acting director and associate professor, Center for Health Policy, for his contribution to the recent closing of liquor stores and denial of liquor licenses in Whiteclay, Neb.

Chancellor Robert D. Sparks, M.D., Award in Public Health and Preventive Medicine: Judy Martin, deputy director of the Community and Environmental Health Section, Division of Public Health, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. Martin has shown outstanding innovation and made significant impact in preventing disease and promoting health through public health education, research and practice, with particular attention to the needs of Nebraska and its citizens. Martin embraces evidenced-based approaches and respects the pivotal role that local and state partners have in achieving sustainable community health outcomes.

Fred & Eve Simon Public Health “Impact” Prize: Shinobu Watanabe-Galloway, Ph.D., vice chair and associate professor, epidemiology, for her prevention programs that reduce health disparities and her data collection initiatives that strengthen the understanding of health inequities, particularly in the areas of cancer prevention and control and behavioral health.

College of Public Health Faculty Research Award: Aaron Yoder, Ph.D., assistant professor, environmental, agricultural and occupational health, for improving the health of workers in agriculture and related industries through science-based research, product development and outreach to reduce occupational hazards, leading to a healthier and safer workforce.

Student Awards

Chancellor Robert D. Sparks, M.D., Public Health Research Student Award: Ellana Haakenstad and Yangyuna Yang.

Outstanding Service Learning/Capstone Experience Award: Caleb Adejoh.

Distinguished Student of Practice Award: Ashley Carroll.

The United States Public Health Service, 2018 Excellence in Public Health Award: Bianca Christensen.

Alumni Awards

Early Career Achievement Award: Salomon Compaore, M.D., Class of 2014, director, Disease Control, and Prevention Office, Center Region Health Directorate in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Distinguished Alumnus Award: Erin Carlson, Ph.D., Class of 2004, associate clinical professor at University of Texas at Arlington’s College of Nursing and Health Innovation, where she oversees development of graduate public health programs.

This article was written by Elizabeth Kumru, UNMC public relations.

Leave a comment