News & Events

2016 Faculty and Student Awards

2016 Faculty Award Winners: John Lowe, PhD, Kendra Schmid, PhD, Alice Schumaker, PhD, Shireen Rajaram, PhD and Patrik Johansson, MD, MPH

COPH Notable Mentions – Each year COPH recognizes the work of faculty and students. For more information about each award and past awardees click here.

This year’s honorees are:


UNMC College of Public Health Excellence in Teaching Award

Shireen S. Rajaram, PhD
Patrik Johansson, MD, MPH

Carruth J. Wagner, M.D., Faculty Prize in Public Health

Kendra K. Schimd, PhD
UNMC College of Public Faculty Research Award

John J. Lowe, PhD

Fred & Eve Simon Public Health Impact Prize

Alice M. Schumaker, MS, MPA, PhD


Chancellor Robert D. Sparks, M.D., Public Health Research Student Award

Adekunle Adeyemi

Patte L. Martin Scholarship

Kandy Do

Carruth J. Wagner, M.D. Scholarship in Public Health

Adekunle Adeyemi
Aastha Chandak
Niodita Gupta
Batool Khattab
Molly McCarthy
Yushma Pant
Adenike Sulaiman
Kate Trout
Rajvi Wani

Robert D. Sparks M.D., Pre-Professional. Undergraduate Student Scholarship in Health Promotion and Disease Prevention

Carmen A. Ochoa

In addition to these awards, COPH alumnus Andrew Braith, MPH (EPI, 2013) was presented with a 2016 Excellence in Public Health Award by the United States Public Health Service (USPHS) at the COPH Convocation on May 6th. This award is an opportunity for the USPHS to recognize medical students who have positively impacted public health in their communities. First as an MPH student, and now as an MD student at UNMC, Braith has done everything from assisting with an outbreak investigation as an intern at the local health department to conducting research on pertussis vaccinations, to providing care at a community sexual health clinic to completing global health research and service.


Leave a Reply