McGoogan News

Register now for a library class

The following classes have been announced for Spring 2013. To register, visit http://unmc.libguides.com/classes

PubMed
Instructor-Teri Hartman

You use PubMed every day – come to this class and learn new tips and tools to improve your PubMed searches and methods to keep up with your research topics. This one-hour, hands-on class will cover constructing effective searches, getting to full-text, and setting up alerts to keep up with your research interests. The class is open to UNMC and The Nebraska Medical Center faculty, staff, students, and affiliates.

  • Feb 5, Tuesday, Noon-1pm
  • Mar 11, Monday, 2:00pm-3:00pm
  • Apr 25, Thursday, 10:00am-11:00am

Citations and Bibliographies Made Easier – RefWorks
Instructor – Cindy Schmidt

Create a searchable database from your MEDLINE, CINAHL, and PsycINFO search results. Use that database to insert citations and create bibliographies in your papers in just minutes. Reformat your paper for submission to a new journal in seconds. Learn how to do this and more. The class is open to all UNMC faculty, staff, students, and alumni

  • Feb 13, Wednesday, 10:00am-11:30am
  • Mar 12, Tuesday, 1:00pm-2:30pm
  • Apr 19, Friday, 10:00am-11:30am

Scopus
Instructor – Alissa Fial

Come to McGoogan Library and learn about some of the advanced features found in Scopus. During this 90 minute session, participants will learn about journal analytics, author searching (including h-index), and citation tracking. Time will be set aside for individuals to conduct searches on areas of their own interest.

  • Feb 7, Thursday, Noon-1:30pm
  • Feb 18, Monday, 11:30am-1:00pm
  • Mar 7, Thursday, Noon-1:30pm
  • Mar 18, Monday, 11:30am-1:00pm
  • Apr 11, Thursday, Noon-1:30pm
  • Apr 22, Monday, 11:30am-1:00pm

Citation style-APA
Instructor – Alissa Fial

Are you interested in learning more about the basics of citing using the American Psychological Association (APA) style? Come to this class. This one-hour, hands-on class will cover rules about the APA style format, in-text citing, and the Reference List. You will also learn where to look in the Manual for your answers!

  • Feb 21, Thursday, Noon-1:30pm
  • Mar 4, Monday, 11:30am-1:00pm
  • Mar 21, Thursday, Noon-1:30pm
  • Apr 8, Monday, 11:30am-1:00pm
  • Apr 25, Thursday, Noon-1:30pm

Leave a Reply


1 + two =