Be careful replying to all if you’re a bcc recipient in Outlook

When you receive a message in which you are bcc’d, other names in the To and Cc are not aware you were copied on an email. You will see other names that are in the To or CC but names in the BCC are not seen by others. If you reply to all, others may “discover” that you received a copy, which could cause embarrassment. So be careful before replying to all, and if your name is not listed in the To or CC, you were bcc’d in the message.

In addition, replying to all does not go to bcc recipients. If you’re looking for the bcc field, you have to click on the Options tab while in a message and click Bcc icon to add it. You will not see the bcc field, however, if you are opening a message you received.

Learn more about Outlook features in ITS’ Outlook Email Management and Productivity Tools on Tuesday, 9/25 from 1-2:30 p.m. in 8011 Wittson Hall. Click here for the Sept/Oct training schedule and online registration links.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *